something to rely on.

I just go this flash of epiphany/flash while working on a tight deadline. My Spotify was shuffling and it played a song by Keane, which I had little interest when I was younger. But I remembered that one of my cousins used to play that song all the time and I kept thinking that those are simpler times. Look at me, talking like an old bitter fool but I think it has been more that 12 years since that day and I’m craving something that I no longer can have or go back to. I didn’t understand when I was younger, why my parents, especially my dad had a hard time liking newer songs. I think it’s more of the sense of nostalgia a certain song carries than the musicality of the song itself. It’s really in itself something that people can rely on. In an ever-changing world where you can’t really hold on to something these songs are would still be the same; the melodies, the memories and the feelings behind them.

Leave a Reply

